Wednesday, April 09, 2014

The return of Celia Fremlin.

Faber Finds has reissued a number of mysteries by Celia Fremlin (1914–2009), including her Edgar-winning The Hours before Dawn (dramatized on The Alfred Hitchcock Hour as "The Lonely Hours").

Appointment with Yesterday 
By Horror Haunted (short story collection)
Dangerous Thoughts (Kirkus review here)
Don't Go to Sleep in the Dark (short story collection)
The Echoing Stones
The Jealous One
King of the World (her last novel)
Listening in the Dusk
The Long Shadow (Pittsburgh Press review here)
A Lovely Way to Die (short story collection; Kirkus review here)
The Parasite Person
Prisoner's Base (Kirkus review here)
Seven Lean Years
The Spider Orchid
The Trouble-Makers
Uncle Paul
With No Crying  

Faber Finds also has republished Fremlin's first book, the nonfiction work War Factory, which is a result of the British World War II effort called Mass Observation.

1 comment:

Ed Gorman said...

One of my all time favorite writers.