Thursday, July 17, 2008

Georgia Writers Hall of Fame.

Organized by the libraries of the University of Georgia, the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame honors that state's most influential writers. Potential selectees must be a native of Georgia or have produced a significant work while residing in Georgia. Members of the public may nominate individuals here; past suggestions for nominees include Mignon F. Ballard (Augusta Goodnight series) and Virginia Lanier (Anthony winner, Death in Bloodhound Red). Although some members may seem to be givens (e.g., Erskine Caldwell, Carson McCullers, Alice Walker), I was pleased to see journalist and mystery author Celestine Sibley (The Malignant Heart, A Plague of Kinfolks, etc.) and historical novelist Frank Yerby (The Foxes of Harrow, etc.) as part of the roster.

No comments: